Iredell County

Region: Mountain
County Seat: Statesville (1789)
Population: 122,6601
Towns & Cities:  Love Valley, Mooresville, Troutman, Union Grove
Iredell County was formed in 1788 from Rowan County. It is in the central section of the State and is bounded by Rowan, Cabarrus, Mecklenburg, Lincoln, Catawba, Alexander, Wilkes, Yadkin and Davie counties.2

Iredell County was named in honor of James Iredell of Edenton, one of the leaders of the State advocating the adoption of the Federal Constitution. Washington appointed him a judge of the Supreme Court of the United States in 1790.2

Education (1)
Government & Community Bodies (1)
Historical Sites & Museums (1)

1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina Reptile is the Eastern Box Turtle.

The Box Turtle is a land-based turtle, ands are long-lived, taking some 10-20 years to reach sexual maturity.

Sign up for our mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina