Haywood County





Region: Mountain
County Seat: Waynesville (1810)
Population: 54,0331
Towns & Cities:  Canton, Clyde, Maggie Valley
Haywood County was formed from Buncombe County in 1808. It is in the western section of the State and is bounded by the state of Tennessee and Madison, Buncombe, Transylvania, Jackson and Swain counties.2

Additional County History


Education (2)
Entertainment (1)
Government & Community Bodies (2)
Hotels, Motels & Places to Stay (5)
Health & Fitness (1)
Non-Profit Organizations & Social Groups (1)
Recreation (1)



1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina State Insect is the Honey Bee.

Honey Bees provide valuable pollination for North Carolina Crops. One good hive of bees can contain approximately 30,000 Bees.

Sign up for our WelcomeToNC.com mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved
WelcomeToNC.com is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina