Buncombe County





Region: Mountain
County Seat: Asheville
Population: 206,3301
Towns & Cities:  Alexander, Arden, Barnardsville, Biltmore Forest, Black Mountain, Candler, Enka, Fairview, Leicester, Montreat, Ridgecrest, Skyland, Swannanoa, Weaverville
Buncombe County was devided from Burke and Rutherford counties in 1791. It is in the western section of the State and is bounded by McDowell, Henderson, Haywood, Madison, and Yancey counties. 2

Additional County History


Business & Industry (1)
Dining (1)
Education (4)
Entertainment (2)
Golf (3)
Government & Community Bodies (9)
Historical Sites & Museums (4)
Hotels, Motels & Places to Stay (3)
Real Estate (11)
Recreation (2)



1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


North Carolinians are nicknamed the "Tar Heels".

It not exactly evident where this nickname originated, but it seems to have given birth during the Civil War. North Carolina's troops were said to have tar on their heels, because they would not run in battle even as other states retreated.

Sign up for our WelcomeToNC.com mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved
WelcomeToNC.com is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina