Alexander County

Region: Mountain
County Seat: Taylorsville
Population: 33,6031
Alexander County was formed from Iredell, Caldwell, and Wilkes counties in 1847. It is in the west central section of the State and is bounded by Iredell, Catawba, Caldwell, and Wilkes counties.2

Additional County History

Alexander County is located in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains and bordered on the south by the Catawba River and Catawba County, on the west by Caldwell County, on the north by Wilkes County and on the east by Iredell County. Primary industry includes agriculture, furniture, and textiles.3

Education (1)
Government & Community Bodies (3)
Historical Sites & Museums (3)
Recreation (1)

1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.
3Facts gathered from Alexander County, North Carolina


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina quarter was printed in 2001 by the U.S. Mint and features the Wright Brother's famous first flight at Kitty Hawk.

The quarter features the date North Carolina signed the constitution, 1789. However, the States slogan is listed as "First Flight", while it is really "First in Flight".

Sign up for our mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina