Yadkin County





Region: Mountains
County Seat: Yadkinville
Population: 36,3481
Towns & Cities:  East Bend, Hamptonville, Jonesville, Union Grove
Yadkin County was formed in 1850 from Surry. Its name is derived from the Yadkin River which runs through it. It is in the north central section of the State and is bounded by Forsyth, Davie, Iredell, Wilkes and Surry counties.2

Additional County History


Government & Community Bodies (2)



1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina State Flag bears the state colors or red, white and blue.

The Flag bears two dates in its blue field on the left. May 20, 1775 was the year North Carolina signed the Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence was issued and April 12, 1776 is the date of the Halifax Resolves. North Carolina was the first colony to declare its independence from England well before July 4, 1776.

Sign up for our WelcomeToNC.com mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved
WelcomeToNC.com is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina