Watauga County





Region: Mountian
County Seat: Boone (1851)
Population: 42,6951
Towns & Cities:  Beech Mountain , Blowing Rock, Seven Devils, Valle Crucis
Watauga County was formed from Ashe, Wilkes, Caldwell and Yancey counties in 1849. It is in the northwestern section of the State and is bounded by the State of Tennessee and Ashe, Wilkes, Caldwell and Avery counties.2

Additional County History

Watuaga County has received many accolades: "The Firefly Capital of the World." "One of the 100 Best Small Towns in America." "Best Mountain Town. The air is clearer, drier and 10 degrees cooler. 3,300 feet closer to heaven, the views are longer and life is slower. Winter usually lasts into March.

Four ski resorts have the most modern snowmaking equipment. Spring brings the glorious new blooms of mountain laurel and rhododendron. Summer's average high of 78 degrees makes you want to go outside hiking, fishing, rafting or to enjoy a beautiful mountain day. Autumn brings the world-famous foliage colors.

Business & Industry (1)
Dining (2)
Education (3)
Entertainment (2)
Golf (1)
Government & Community Bodies (3)
Non-Profit Organizations & Social Groups (1)
Recreation (3)



1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.
3 Information gathered from Boone Visitors Beaureu.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina State Flag bears the state colors or red, white and blue.

The Flag bears two dates in its blue field on the left. May 20, 1775 was the year North Carolina signed the Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence was issued and April 12, 1776 is the date of the Halifax Resolves. North Carolina was the first colony to declare its independence from England well before July 4, 1776.

Sign up for our WelcomeToNC.com mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved
WelcomeToNC.com is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina