Scotland County

Region: Piedmont
County Seat: Laurinburg
Population: 35,9981
Towns & Cities:  Laurel Hil, Wagram
Scotland County was formed in 1899 from Richmond. It is in the southeastern section of the State and is bounded by the state of South Carolina and Richmond, Moore, Hoke and Robeson counties.2

Scotland County was named for the country of Scotland, the northern portion of the British Isles.2 Many of the county's early European settlers were from Scotland.

Business & Industry (3)
Education (1)
Entertainment (1)
Government & Community Bodies (1)
Professional Services (1)

1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina State Flag bears the state colors or red, white and blue.

The Flag bears two dates in its blue field on the left. May 20, 1775 was the year North Carolina signed the Mecklenburg Declaration of Independence was issued and April 12, 1776 is the date of the Halifax Resolves. North Carolina was the first colony to declare its independence from England well before July 4, 1776.

Sign up for our mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina