Rowan County

Region: Piedmont
County Seat: Salisbury (1755)
Population: 130,3401
Towns & Cities:  China Grove, Cleveland, East Spencer, Faith, Granite Quarry, Kannapolis, Landis, Rockwell, Spencer
Rowan county was formed in 1753 from Anson county. It is in the central section of the State and is bounded by Davidson, Stanly, Cabarrus, Iredell and Davie counties.2

Additional County History

From the broad Atlantic Coastal Plain, the land rises to form the Piedmont Crescent that arches its back against the craggy Blue Ridge Mountains. Rowan County lies along the ridge central to the Piedmont and celebrates a diversity of environment that includes the mountains at its back, extensive waterways at its feet, and rolling country between. Salisbury, the county seat, and surrounding municipalities provide the balance between urban and rural lifestyles.3

Education (1)
Government & Community Bodies (2)

1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.
3 Summery gathered from Rowan County Chamber of Commerce.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina quarter was printed in 2001 by the U.S. Mint and features the Wright Brother's famous first flight at Kitty Hawk.

The quarter features the date North Carolina signed the constitution, 1789. However, the States slogan is listed as "First Flight", while it is really "First in Flight".

Sign up for our mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina