Rockingham County

Region: Piedmont
County Seat: Wentworth (1799)
Population: 91,9281
Towns & Cities:  Eden, Madison, Mayodan, Reidsville, Stoneville
Rockingham County was formed in 1785 from Guilford county. It is in the north central section of the State and is bounded by Caswell, Guilford and Stokes counties and the State of Virginia.2

Additional County History

Rockingham was named in honor of Charles Watson-Wentworth, Second Marquis of Rockingham, who was a leader of a party in the British Parliament which advocated American independence. He was Prime Minister when the Stamp Act was repealed.2

Education (1)
Government & Community Bodies (1)

1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


North Carolinians are nicknamed the "Tar Heels".

It not exactly evident where this nickname originated, but it seems to have given birth during the Civil War. North Carolina's troops were said to have tar on their heels, because they would not run in battle even as other states retreated.

Sign up for our mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina