Mecklenburg County

Region: Piedmont
County Seat: Charlotte
Population: 695,4541
Towns & Cities:  Cornelius, Davidson, Huntersville, Lake Norman, Matthews, Mint Hill, Newell, Pineville
Mecklenburg County was formed in 1762 from Anson county. The act was to become effective February 1, 1763. It is in the south central section of the State and is bounded by the state of South Carolina and Gaston, Lincoln, Iredell, Cabarrus and Union counties.2

Additional County History

Business & Industry (8)
Dining (3)
Education (4)
Entertainment (6)
Golf (4)
Government & Community Bodies (4)
Historical Sites & Museums (5)
Hotels, Motels & Places to Stay (4)
Nightlife (3)
Non-Profit Organizations & Social Groups (1)

1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina State Insect is the Honey Bee.

Honey Bees provide valuable pollination for North Carolina Crops. One good hive of bees can contain approximately 30,000 Bees.

Sign up for our mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina