McDowell County

Region: Mountain
County Seat: Marion
Population: 42,1511
Towns & Cities:  Little Switzerland, Nebo, Old Fort
McDowell County was formed from Rutherford and Burke counties in 1842. It is in the west central section of the State and is bounded by Burke, Rutherford, Henderson, Buncombe, Yancey, Mitchell and Avery counties.2

Additional County History


Education (5)
Government & Community Bodies (6)
Recreation (4)

1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina Fish is the Channel Bass.

Channel Bass usually occur in great supply along the cost and most large ones average between 30 and 40 pounds, making them great for sport fishing.

Sign up for our mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina