Johnston County

Region: Piedmont
County Seat: Smithfield
Population: 121,9651
Towns & Cities:  Benson, Clayton, Four Oaks, Kenly, Micro, Pine Level, Princeton, Selma, Wilson's Mills
In 1746, Johnston County was formed from Craven County. It was named in honor of Gabriel Johnston, Governor of North Carolina, 1734-1752. It is in the eastern section of the State and is bounded by Wilson, Wayne, Sampson, Cumberland, Harnett, Wake and Nash counties.2

Additional County History

Main Street3
Johnston County, North Carolina offers great connections to history, entertainment, dining, shopping, and lodging. Johnston County offers a generous helping of true North Carolina hospitality. Located midway between New York and Florida on I-95 and at the cross-roads of I-95 and I-40, Johnston County connects the nation's North and South with East and West. Its location places it only a two-hour drive from Atlantic Coast Beaches and a four-hour drive from the Blue Ridge Mountains.3

Business & Industry (1)
Education (2)
Government & Community Bodies (5)
Historical Sites & Museums (4)
Health & Fitness (1)
Recreation (1)

1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.
3 Information and picture gathered from Johnston County.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina Fish is the Channel Bass.

Channel Bass usually occur in great supply along the cost and most large ones average between 30 and 40 pounds, making them great for sport fishing.

Sign up for our mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina