Dare County





Region: Coatal Plain
County Seat: Manteo
Population: 29,9671
Towns & Cities:  Kill Devil Hills, Kity Hawk, Nags Head, Outer Banks, Rodanthe, Salvo, Southern Shores, Waves
Dare was formed in 1870 from Currituck, Tyrrell, and Hyde Counties. It is in the eastern section of the State, and is bounded by Pamlico, Croatan and Albemarle Sounds, Hyde and Tyrrell counties (and on the banks by the Atlantic Ocean). Manteo, named in honor of an Indian Chief, is the county seat.2

Dare County was named in honor of Virginia Dare, the first child born of English parents in America.

Entertainment (1)
Government & Community Bodies (1)
Historical Sites & Museums (4)
Recreation (2)



1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina State Insect is the Honey Bee.

Honey Bees provide valuable pollination for North Carolina Crops. One good hive of bees can contain approximately 30,000 Bees.

Sign up for our WelcomeToNC.com mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved
WelcomeToNC.com is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina