Columbus County

Region: Coastal Plain
County Seat: Whiteville
Population: 54,7491
Towns & Cities:  Fair Bluff, Lake Waccamaw, Tabor City
Columbus was formed in 1808 from Brunswick and Bladen Counties. It is in the southeastern section of the State and is bounded by the state of South Carolina and Robeson, Bladen, Pender and Brunswick counties.2

Additional County History


Education (1)
Government & Community Bodies (2)

1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina quarter was printed in 2001 by the U.S. Mint and features the Wright Brother's famous first flight at Kitty Hawk.

The quarter features the date North Carolina signed the constitution, 1789. However, the States slogan is listed as "First Flight", while it is really "First in Flight".

Sign up for our mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina