Burke County





Region: Mountain
County Seat: Morganton (1784)
Population: 89,1481
Towns & Cities:  Glen Alpine, Hickory, Rutherford College, Valdese
Rowan County was split into Burke County in 1777. It is in the west central section of the State and is bounded by Catawba, Cleveland, Rutherford, McDowell, Avery and Caldwell counties.2

Additional County History

Burke County possesses a natural beauty that equals or surpasses that of any county in the state. Its appeal has been acclaimed as being representative of a rare jewel in the vast array of gems that make up the state and this country as a whole -- the envy of communities across the globe. From its majestic purple hills to the north to its green rolling hills to the south, Burke County lies nestled in the Catawba Valley River basin seemingly protected from the severe storms so common in other parts of the state and the country.3

Education (2)
Entertainment (1)
Government & Community Bodies (2)
Legends, Tails & Culture (1)
Health & Fitness (1)
Recreation (1)



1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.
3 Facts gathered from Burker County Government.

TV Spotlight

Burke County and it's Brown Mountain Lights were featured in one of the episodes of The X-Files.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina quarter was printed in 2001 by the U.S. Mint and features the Wright Brother's famous first flight at Kitty Hawk.

The quarter features the date North Carolina signed the constitution, 1789. However, the States slogan is listed as "First Flight", while it is really "First in Flight".

Sign up for our WelcomeToNC.com mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved
WelcomeToNC.com is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina