Avery County





Region: Mountain
County Seat: Newland
Population: 17,1671
Towns & Cities:  Banner Elk, Beech Mountain, Crossnore, Elk Park, Linville, Linville Falls, Pineola, Plumtree
In 1911, Avery County was formed from Watauga, Mitchell and Caldwell Counties. It is in the northwestern section of the State and is bounded by the state of Tennessee and the counties of Watauga, Caldwell, Burke, McDowell and Mitchell.2

Additional County History


Entertainment (1)
Government & Community Bodies (3)
Hotels, Motels & Places to Stay (3)
Health & Fitness (1)
Recreation (2)



1 Population figures from Census Bureau Home Page for the 2000 Census.
2 Facts gathered from State Library of North Carolina.


About Us
Contact Us
Client Login
Suggest an Entry


The North Carolina State Insect is the Honey Bee.

Honey Bees provide valuable pollination for North Carolina Crops. One good hive of bees can contain approximately 30,000 Bees.

Sign up for our WelcomeToNC.com mailing list.
E-Mail Address:
Home | Category Search | City Search | County Directories | Town Search | Index
© 2002- Professional Computer Consulting, Inc.- All Rights Reserved
WelcomeToNC.com is not affiliated with any state agency of North Carolina